: / Kyrgyzstan / Biosphere / Forest Resources (2003)

Kyrgyzstan Review, 10 years ago


1.1. Geography

The Kyrgyz Republic is a sovereign, unitary, democratic republic, built on the base of a legal secular state.
The independence of the Kyrgyz Republic was declared at 31 August 1991 in The Declaration of State Independence of the Republic of Kyrgyzstan, adopted by the Supreme Council of the Kyrgyz Republic. The Kyrgyz Republic was the member the USSR till 31 August 1991 in the status of a union republic Kyrgyz Soviet Socialist Republic.
In the country there are 22 towns, 7 Provinces (Oblasts) Chui, Naryn, Issyk-Kul, Talas, Osh, Jalal-Abad and Batken, 40 rural districts (Raions), 29 settlements of urban type, 429 village councils. The capital of the Republic is Bishkek with 756 thousand people.
The Kyrgyz Republic is a mountainous country, situated at the Northeast part of Central Asia. It borders at Northeast with Kazakhstan, at West with Uzbekistan, at Southwest with Tadjikistan, and at Southeast with China.
The territory of the Kyrgyz Republic is 199,9 square km. It is 925 km long from East to West, 453 km wide from North to South. Almost 90% of its territory is 1000 m above in elevation. Kyrgyzstan is a country of mountains, covering spacious areas of Tyan-Shan and Alay Mountains. Forestlands act as accumulator of moisture. Growing at mountainsides, they prevent mudflows, landslides and snow avalanches, regulate water discharge to rivers, evening throughout a year. That is why it is unlikely to overestimate importance of these forests for economy of Central Asia, where land cultivation is based on irrigation.